Bank Holidays are for relaxing….

Hello All

I could be cleaning paintwork….I could be cutting the garden back (first dry day for a while)…I could be re-grouting the bathroom … dusting … washing …. ironing ….. BUT its a Bank Holiday and I am relaxing. Luverly.

Instead of being a domestic goddess (never going to happen) I’ve been spending time catching up with friends and escaping the dust-bunnies by putting my feet up with a couple of glossy magazines. What a treat.

One is an old favourite

DSCI0050

with wonderful articles, gorgeous photographs and witty columnists, including newbie Caz Graham whose voice will be familiar to anyone who listens to Farming Today.

DSCI0051

Caz once recommended a book to me, Michael Morpurgo’s “I Believe in Unicorns”. DownloadedFile

It is one of the most moving books I have read. Set in a war zone where the local library comes under threat “I Believe in Unicorns” reveals the power of story-telling to move humanity.

My other glossy was a lucky find amongst the racks of our local supermarket Booths.

DSCI0044

 

‘Landscape – Life at Nature’s Pace’ appears every three months and I picked up the latest Autumnal edition. It is absolutely crammed with arts and crafts, kitchen goodies, gardening, country matters, history and heritage and regular columns. Brilliant.

In this edition I was drawn to the article on farriers.

DSCI0046

My father was a blacksmith – as was his father before him – in the days when the village blacksmith turned his hand to all kinds of metal work: hoops for kegs, iron work for gates and fences and of course shoeing horses. ‘With Hammer and Anvil’ celebrates the work of today’s farrier a real fusion of ancient and modern.

I used to love hearing my father’s tales of working with horses. This well written and researched piece brought those stories back.

DSCI0049

Believe it or not there was also a useful article on darning! Something some of my older hand knitted socks could do with before winter. Talking of socks….

I’ve been wondering what to use my super new notebook for

DSCI0040

It suggests sewing I know …. wonder why?!

DSCI0041

But as my old pattern/row counting book is almost full a perfect use was obvious …. and with a new pair of socks beckoning my notebook was soon fulfilling its destiny.

DSCI0043

Do you know No1 son bought that wool and I wasn’t at all sure I was a brown sock sort of person yet it’s knitting up most pleasingly and has a touch of Fair Isle about it. Can’t wait to see the full effect.

Until next we meet. Moke x

5 comments on “Bank Holidays are for relaxing….

  1. How lovely sometimes to enjoy a day just relaxing and not doing those daily/regular activities..we need that once a while 🙂

  2. A nice relaxing day! I’ll check out the Michael Morpurgo book, it sounds great. I looked at the new ‘Landscapes’ mag in Booths, and was tempted. Might get a copy now.

    • Moke says:

      Hi Deborah – The Michael Morpurgo is worth the read. Caz had read it with her daughter. I love ‘Landscapes’ and the fact that its only every three months didn’t make it feel too indulgent! I’ll link to your blog on my next entry but it would be handy to have the link if you want to reply with it.
      All the best,
      Moke xxx

  3. […] may remember that I have talked about this super periodical before. We are very lucky to have such a high quality magazine celebrating our beautiful county. No […]

Leave a Reply

