Pigs and dragons might fly

Hello All

Having been a bit off colour this week I was glad to trip into town today. Little did I know how literal that was going to be. You know that feeling when you start losing your balance? Your arms windmill like crazy and you briefly believe that everything will be OK and you will right yourself before falling flat on your face? Welcome to a moment in my world.

VERY EMBARRASSING….. but after my failed attempt at flying – a BIG THANK YOU to the kind folks who checked I was OK and helped me back on my feet – I gave myself permission to work on a couple of creative projects where flying could be more successfully achieved.

Over the months I have talked about our wonderful friend Linda who tragically died after a sudden illness. Linda always eagerly anticipated Mintfest – a wacky amalgam of street theatre and performing arts – and every August helped out as an enthusiastic and dedicated steward. In recognition of the tremendous support Linda gave to this community-based festival Mintfest 2014 is dedicated to her memory. DownloadedFile Ah-ha now you can see where I’m going with the flying. Apparently Linda had a vision of Kendal swathed in knitted replicas of the distinctive pink Mintfest flying pig. Now thanks to Homespun community organisation a pattern for the newly named ‘Frickel Pig’ is being sold around Kendal to raise funds for Linda’s favourite charities, help us get knitting and adorn this little old grey town of ours with a splash of pink. Here is my Frickel pig….almost done……

…just awaiting wings and a face. The wings are the tricky bit. Luckily there are some fabulous knitters (I am obviously not one of them) in Kendal and I can’t wait to see all the little Frickel’s taking flight at the end of the month. It should be spectacular. I will try and get some snaps for you, look out for them at a blog near you.

As to my other flying project and for those of you keeping an eye on his progress. Drekie has grown legs and rolled in local Herdwick fleece.

But what to do with his wings and spikes? Any suggestions? Should I go natural fleece or let rip with brightly dyed tops? Decisions, decisions. Let me know what you think.

In my head Drekie has a story involving Vikings, long ships and magic on these north western shores. Perhaps one day I will write it down and give him a little book bag containing his biography ‘The Tale of Drekie”.

Until we meet next. Moke x

2 comments on “Pigs and dragons might fly

Leave a Reply

