amo amas amat

Tuesday night is Latin Night. For the last few years my friend AH and I have struggled with participles, infinitives (split and otherwise), subjunctives, declensions and conjugations and that’s before we tackle Latin! Did I ever mentioned that I went to secondary school when grammar was considered a thing of the past? Perhaps it obvious was …. Comprehensive schools in the 1960s and 1970s placed emphasis on creativity and that was great until…I started learning a new language.

AH and I started learning Latin with Minimus –  ‘the mouse that made Latin cool’ – a Latin course for younger children (ermmm, AH and I are a little bit older) based on a family that lived at Vindolanda – just up the road on Hadrian’s Wall – in 100AD. After Minimus we began the Cambridge Latin Course and are currently on Book IV. DSCN0464

I know for a fact that we’ve been studying Latin for four years because on the day we first started translating Minimus AH’s neighbour popped in to tell AH that she was expecting a baby. That expectation is now a beautiful little girl of four. We may be slow but we have kept going,

and have recently been joined by another friend who is on Book II and consequently gives us an opportunity to revise what we have learnt. We have a theory that as we turn the last page of the last book (only one more to go….eeeeeek) we will be magically transformed in to natural Latin speakers. Fingers crossed.

I can’t imagine why we have taken so long… DSCN0474

8 comments on “amo amas amat

  1. I studied Latin at university in the 1990s, and the other day I dug out my copy of Virgil’s Aeneid book VI (one of several books I don’t really need but am keeping as souvenirs of those university years) to refer to for a blog posting I was writing (feel free to read it, if you like – my posting, I mean, not Aeneid VI, though that’s not bad either). I had a good Latin teacher when I first started out, aged 8, so that helped make me keen on the subject. Like many people, I didn’t learn that much grammar in English lessons, so Latin got me appreciating how sentences in any language are put together.

    • Moke says:

      Thanks for responding to my Blog on Latin. I agree, Latin gives you an appreciation of the way that language is constructed and helps with writing generally. I will be reading your blog and possibly Aeneid. Although the latter may be some years hence!

  2. Curls & Q says:

    Q – Kismet! I have been wanting to learn Latin for years! Having a scientific background I totally loved learning the roots to scientific words. Is this a free course. I was just looking at the Cambridge site a few weeks ago and missed this course.

    • Moke says:

      Hi – my friend and I decided some years ago that we would like to learn Latin together as we both have ‘History’ backgrounds. We have drunk copious amounts of tea and eaten far too many biscuits as we have worked our way through the Cambridge Latin Course (www.cambridgescp.com). All it has cost us is the cost of each book in the series, I think the latest book cost us c£16.00. We are now (four…or is it five? years later) on the last book of the series (Book V) and still feel our Latin leaves a lot to be desired however we are almost completely self taught and have really enjoyed ourselves trying to get to grips with the tricky territory of Latin grammar (sad souls that we are) and translating the stories in the Cambridge books. When we finish this last book I think we are going to give the classics such as ‘Winnie ille Pu’ (yes it is that bear made famous by A.A. Milne) a go. Good luck learning Latin and I hope you find a good friend to do it with. Let me know how you get on.

      • Curls & Q says:

        Q – Not to be a pest…. but…. I went to the link and can’t seem to figure out the next link to click on. I keep getting to the spot were the class is 200 pounds. I found a place where Stage 1 and 2 are free but it is a subscription after that.

      • Moke says:

        Hi Q – You’re not a pest at all! My friend and I just bought the books as we went along (either from the site or sometimes second hand) and didn’t pay for a course. We just used the site for the free online activities that relate to the books. See if this link is any better: http://www.cambridgescp.com/Upage.php?p=clc^oa_intro^intro
        Funnily enough I bumped into my ‘Latin’ friend today and told her that you’d been in touch so she also says ‘Hi’ and wishes you luck. Seeing her also reminded me that we started with two very, very basic books “Minimus Starting Out in Latin” (Published by Cambridge University Press ISBN 9780521659604) and “Minimus Secundus Moving On in Latin” (ISBN 9780521755450) both by Barbara Bell. They are aimed at young children so I hope you will not be offended! but we loved them as they are fun and got us going. Keep me posted on progress. Moke
        PS How strange is this? As I tootled into Kendal today I was looking at our ‘old’ buildings and thought that ‘over the pond’ you must also have some beautiful old architecture. Then I got home and saw your message about being ‘new’! M

      • Curls & Q says:

        Q – LOL! We are on the west coast so our “OLD” architecture is Native American or if we’re talking European, old is the 1700’s. LOL!

        Will look into the Minimus books. As a retired teacher, I know that kids books are often the best for learning the basics. Can’t wait. Have been wanting to learn Latin forever. Our high school offered it until the year I started. LOL. So my older brother took it, but it wasn’t available to me. Off to check the link. Thanks! And thank your friend for the good wishes. I will cross the pond one day to visit England. As a genealogist, both the Hubs and I have lots of lines from there. AND my favorite area to read about is where you live.

      • Moke says:

        Have fun with the Latin and let me know how you are getting on. Keep in touch and hopefully we can meet up when you visit. Moke

Leave a Reply

